Moving on

My chess game may be nearing its denouement.  Soon I’ll have more time to take the good advice I was given today – on a five mile barefoot and at times rocky hike – to “pick up [my] guitar every day, and see what happens.”  I’m looking forward to it.

I’m still hoping to bring you chess insights as they come to me – perhaps more often, as distance gives me some perspective on the game.  This last “correspondence” game has been a great teacher – just below the surface of a fairly placid sequence of moves, an avalanche of tactics has consumed my evenings.  All the best stuff is in the notes.

Making it look smooth takes a lot of work that never sees the light of day.

Leave a Reply

