doing is …

I’m repeatedly amazed how much I learn by doing.  The act of writing, for instance, produces ideas that are just as surprising and new to me as they might be to an outside reader.  It’s a strong argument in favor of action; I  need to overcome my past bias in favor of contemplation and preparation, which you can do till the cows come home without getting much accomplished.

Doing is learning from myself, and even beyond that lies the benefit of others adding their thoughts and momentum to a train once I’ve set it in motion.

All of which is to say:  whether it’s a job search or a new company, I should stop reading books about how to do it, and make something happen, however rough-hewn.  “Perfection is the enemy of the good,” and good would be good enough.

This has been a self-inspirational blog post.

Leave a Reply

